cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RichieCat
Beginner
Message 1 of 8

Benefit of Mini Box?

I'm a noob to BTTV and am wondering if I've misunderstood the benefit of a Youview mini box ..

I appreciate it can bring 'smart tv' functionality to an otherwise 'dumb tv' but I expected (even though I knew it couldn't record) to be able to watch recordings stored on the main box and at least be able to watch my Entertainment Package subscription channels 'live' 😩.

My second TV is already 'smart' so I'm actually better off using LG WebOS to watch Freeview and Apps incl. NowTV and save myself £5/m in the process?

Am I missing something?

0 Ratings
7 REPLIES 7
NigelB72
Recognised Expert
Message 2 of 8

Re: Benefit of Mini Box?

If you have a Smart TV with Freeview and you're on a NowTV pack, the mini box is pretty useless as you can access the extra channels through the relevant apps. We use a Roku stick in the bedroom and it works like a charm

0 Ratings
RichieCat
Beginner
Message 3 of 8

That's what I'm thinking - if the minibox sync'd to the main box and allowed remote watching of recordings or even allowed the subscription channels to be view through the 'guide' that would be a benefit but as it stands I can do everything the mini box offers using a combination of Freeview and LG WebOs apps (and there's a Chromecast plugged in too so we're more than covered) 

I think I'll be dropping the extra box off our sub before the cooling off period ends

0 Ratings
Hunter2660
Recognised Expert
Message 4 of 8

You should be able to view the subscrition channels through the EPG, though there's little point if you can use the apps on the TV.

0 Ratings
RichieCat
Beginner
Message 5 of 8

@Hunter2660 

They didn't even show in the EPG and there was no 'Subscriptions' menu in the navigation bar?

Ive just cancelled that add-on and will manage with the LG NowTv app and the others 😉

0 Ratings
DarrenDev
BT Sport Expert
Message 6 of 8