cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner
Message 1 of 5

Connecting a 3 Year Old BT YouView Recorder via WiFi

Hi All, I am a newbie so forgive me if this question has been posted several times before but I have searched the Forum and most of the Questions and Answers on this subject are several years old.

We have an unused BT YouView Recorder at home which I would like to use at our static caravan. I did try to connect it once but found that there is no built in WiFi only the facility to connect via Ethernet or Power Line adapters (which we used at home) so I gave up as the only way we get the internet in our van is via the WiFi provided by our site hence no local router.

We have a Smart TV in the caravan so the only thing I need the BT box to do is record the Freeview channels.

Is it possible to connect it to the TV without going through Ethernet or is there a way to convert it to WiFi via a Wireless Router such as the TP-Link TL-WR802N?

As I am not very technical, would this be fairly easy to do? I’ve set up a Netgear WiFi extender without a problem but my technical knowledge is limited!

Many thanks in advance for any help you can give.

0 Ratings
4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Recognised Expert
Message 2 of 5

Re: Connecting a 3 Year Old BT YouView Recorder via WiFi

For recording the Freeview channels you don't need an internet connection. You only need the aerial connection as does your TV.

You can plug the aerial feed into the Youview box & then a feed out from it to the TV.

In the settings you need to enable RF out or whatever it's called.

Alternatively just use a splitter.

As the box is old & not been used for a while then hopefully it's still on OldGen - lists rather than tiles.