Re: Do I own my BT Youview box?

If you won't accept a replacement then you will just have to use the faulty one
0 Ratings
rscott
Aspiring Expert
Message 102 of 120

@Pollyanna wrote:

And it's not "for free" - I've been paying for this service since November 2012 and am still doing so.

You've been paying a monthly fee for the right to view and record the programmes they provide, not for the provision of the equipment to do so.

It's no different to a mobile phone contract where you get the phone free, provided you agree to a minimum term. That device has a warranty. However if it fails outside the warranty but inside minimum term, it's up to you to get it repaired/replaced at your own expense. 

0 Ratings
Distinguished Guru
Message 103 of 120

@Pollyanna

You said you are not buying the box from BT but after 12 months it becomes your property. That is not exactly the way it works.

If you read the terms and conditions it states that you own the box from day 1 and there is a cost for it but they defer payment for 12 months. After 12 months they go further and waive the deferred payment. So you could say you are buying the box from BT but they generously defer, then waive the cost. They do it like that so they can charge you an amount for it if you cancel the contract early before completing the contract minimum term.

They offered to replace (swap) your box for free, but you declined. You could get it repaired yourself at your own cost if you so wish. Most customers would jump at the chance of getting a newer, better replacement model for free! 🙂
0 Ratings
Distinguished Guru
Message 104 of 120

BT aren't saying that older model is no longer fit for purpose. Lots of customers are still using the older model.

By 'obsolete' the engineer meant they no longer swap like-for-like. They now only issue the newer model, either to new customers or as replacements for faulty boxes.
0 Ratings
Highlighted
Pollyanna
Aspiring Contributor
Message 105 of 120