Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Saintviking
Beginner
Message 1 of 9

VIP package + possible slow down on other devices

Hi,

I'm a newbie, so please treat me gently.

I have been with Sky for 17 years, but now due to finance (and poor new deal offered by Sky), I am considering going over to BT VIP package with an extra box for two room usage. The Sky package still uses a dish as we don't have a Q box set up. 

We have a BT Smart Hub, but with a family of four there are numerous devices permanently connected to it (ipads+phones+laptops). The download speed averages just over 70 mbps.

So, if both TV's have VIP programmes in HD on them, am I likely to have glitches/slow down/freezing on any or all of the other devices connected to the hub ?? - I don't want to hop over to BT and be in a worse position than I am now.

Also is it true that all BT boxes have to be hard wired to the router - that could be a problem for us

Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.

Thanks

0 Ratings
8 REPLIES 8
Hunter2660
Recognised Expert
Message 2 of 9

Re: VIP package + possible slow down on other devices

One thing to remember before any other scenario is that BTTV requires an outdoor aerial, a satellite dish is no good.

0 Ratings
Saintviking
Beginner
Message 3 of 9

Thanks for that

Yes we have an aerial,  but would I need to split it over the two rooms for both BT TV boxes ?? 

0 Ratings
nostra999
Aspiring Expert
Message 4 of 9

Hey,

yes as mentioned the bt tv boxes are quite different to sky Q first of all they are standalone - so a multi room subscription essentially means you have two boxes but they don't work with each other eg recordings can't be watched in different rooms.