Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
stkw11
Beginner
Message 1 of 4

Youview picture too dark - On Demand buffering problem and Humax box locking

Go to solution

Hi - I'm new to Youview but not to BT Broadband.  So when my Humax box arrived Thursday I had everthing installed and working with 20 minutes.  I have a 3 year old Sony 32 inch Freeview TV (not latest tech but with HDMI) - so was looking forward to HD, on demand and programme recording - all in one package.   So really disappointed with some of the basic problems.   

i)The standard Freeview output from the Humax box is nowhere near as sharp as the Sony internal Freeview - and the picture is much much darker (from all sources, HD , on Demand).  I have to increase brightness from 60% to 100% to get a similar picture -  

ii)Despite resetting my home hub checking my broadband speed (6Mb) and all connections (and tunring off my PC and all other devices) every time I try and watch On Demand or Catch up I get significant buffering problems and picture freezing completely.  This is across all th eplayers BBC ITV C5 ect.  

iii)The Humax box has locked up twice while in buffering mode - and can only be sorted by turning power off.  This has been of an eveing mostly - so the Broadband may be busier - but its either the Humax or the BT BB service.  The same thing has happened in testing this morning. 

Any ideas- is the picture issue fixable in the Humax box? And can anything be done to sort out the buffering on the various players - as this doesn't seem to be a Broadband service issue?

0 Ratings
3 REPLIES 3
Moderator-Retired
Message 2 of 4

Re: Youview picture too dark - On Demand buffering problem and Humax box locking

Go to solution
Hi stkw11,

Are you still having trouble with this? Are you using powerline adaptors or a connection directly to your hub?

Chris
BT Mod Team.