cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
672 Views
Message 1 of 3

Surely it's not OK for BT to close a rarely used email account of an ongoing customer

BT have informed me that if I do not log into the bundled email account, it will be closed.

I use this account rarely, but I find it odd that BT would even consider closing the email account of an ongoing customer.

I believe the wording should have been better.  Remove the threatening tone and justify it by refreshing login details or just confirm that I still have the credentials.

0 Ratings
2 REPLIES 2
665 Views
Message 2 of 3

Re: Surely it's not OK for BT to close a rarely used email account of an ongoing customer

@brownandsticky 

It could be a scam message, there are a number of them circulating, so do not select any link in the email, as it will result in the compromise of your account.

See https://community.bt.com/t5/Announcements-Guides-Community/Beware-Scammers-pretending-to-be-from-BT/...

https://community.bt.com/t5/Announcements-Guides-Community/Scams-Information-about-scams-currently-c...

0 Ratings
636 Views
Message 3 of 3

Re: Surely it's not OK for BT to close a rarely used email account of an ongoing customer

While it is possible that you have received a scam email, BT do delete email accounts that are not frequently being used.

See link

https://www.bt.com/help/email/why-has-my-bt-email-address-been-suspended-or-deleted-

In any event you should never use any link in any email in order to log onto your email account or any account for that matter as it could very easily be a scam email and by using the link you will have given the scammer the keys to the kingdom.

If you get any emails asking you to verify any accounts do it by logging on directly to the relevant account and not by using any links.

0 Ratings