cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 12

Noise Margin/Speed

Hi

Total newb here... short explanation: I've had a 5 month long saga which I think I'm emerging from. Everything from drop wire replacements, lift and shifts, etc. etc.

Recently it was discovered that after a lift & shift, there was a failure to reset card profiling, which an engineer said was probably causing latest drops/errors, & since that visit, & card reset, things have been stable and great. Though, my speeds have not returned to what I think they should be... which is basically full whack. I'm on an 80/20 circuit, with a brand new line to cabinet [which is performing almost perfectly according to engineers' tests] which is a maximum of 50 yards away from my house. I think the fact I haven't returned to what I was getting prior to all these problems might be something to do with a noise margin setting - though I'm not sure. I was previously able to sync 80/20 & get a throughout speed of 74/18 - but I think recent engineer visit has cracked it. Cos I'm now not getting the daily drops I was. However, I seem to be stuck on 74/16 sync speed - which is below my previous. I know this is a "first world" problem, cos even that is pretty good - but with the work I do, as a documentary editor, I need as much juice as I can get out of it.

Any one have an idea as to whether the noise margin is the thing that's causing it not to rise back to normal? Is it higher than it should be? Can it be lowered? - any help really gratefully received - ta - Dom

Here are my stats:

Firmware version:v0.26.04.04227-BT

Firmware updated:Fri May 14 00:01:16 2021

Board version:R01

GUI version:1.74 12_11_2020

DSL uptime:4 days,05 Hours23 Mins24 Secs

Data rate:16.996 Mbps / 74 Mbps

Maximum data rate:25.075 Mbps / 87.522 Mbps

Full Fibre (FTTP) Mode:Off

Noise margin:10.8 / 9.3

Line attenuation:6.8 / 12.6

Signal attenuation:6.8 / 14.6

0 Ratings
11 REPLIES 11