cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 11 of 21

Re: Why was this removed? Bring it back!

Go to solution

@Keith_Beddoe 

Yes, good point.  I suppose “ordinary users” wouldn’t even be aware of it on the hub.   Silly comment, consider it withdrawn.

I really posted my initial reply to see if anyone had heard the same rumour.  I thought you might be one of the people that could answer that question.

0 Ratings
Message 12 of 21

Go to solution

Well this average user went looking for it because i read it on their website, couldn't find it, learned about Pihole, setup my own DNS and DHCP server all before lunch time. I'm a fabricator welder...

0 Ratings
Message 13 of 21

Go to solution

The very fact that you posted on here marks you out as not an “ordinary user” but my apologies if the remark caused any offense.

0 Ratings
Message 14 of 21

Go to solution

I've no idea why this has suddenly been raised, it hasn't been possible to change DNS settings on BT hubs for years.

0 Ratings
Message 15 of 21

Go to solution

@StuartHK 

I have used most BT routers in the past, including the original USB (stingray) one, a later USB one which had an Ethernet port, and all of the Voyager series, including the one that had a phone socket for "broadband voice" which was the very early version of VOIP, and gave you an extra phone line. That was on 500Kbs broadband, which was the very first offering from BT.

The last usable home hub was the Home Hub 1, which you could change everything via the web interface, or by editing the user.ini file, which is now encrypted.

I have mainly used a TP Link W9970, however a recent change to BT`s ADSL profile caused connection difficulties.

I now use a Home Hub 4, but with DHCP disabled, as I use PI-Hole as a DHCP server and DNS filter to remove unwanted content like advertisements and trackers.

0 Ratings
Message 16 of 21

Go to solution

@licquorice Aligns with the IPA back in 2016 by any chance?