cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 8

BT Account mystery

I am new to BT broadband(just signed up and went on line on 13/06/2022). While the sign-up and going live has been pretty much smooth with decent reliable broadband connection there's however some strange things happening. Firs,t was asked by email to "activate BT ID" which was simply my email address. I duly did that and it took me to My BT home page where I can see my details. But then it says there is no account linked to my BT ID (so that there is no billing,usage etc info to be seen). It did invite me to add an account but that required an account number, which it suggests could be found on any bills.

Problem is there is no bill ever sent to me albeit I have been debited the first month payment from my bank account (a violation of the Ts&Cs of Direct Debit). OK, the bill could be online in my account but without the account number I cannot link my account to my BT ID which means I cannot see my bills. A catch 22. 

Luckily it says I can request my account number through the post, which I did and and received it today.  I promptly jumped into action, logged in to my BT, added the newly received account number and got an message on page advising me it could take up to 5 minutes to update (my account). Trouble is, now hours later it still invites me to add an account! (I did in fact try twice with a one hour gap but to no avail).

Is BT on strike or BT is hiring some dodgy developers to save money?

0 Ratings
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8

Re: BT Account mystery

if your account went active on 13/6 and you had broadband access then your payment would be taken by DD based on bank account information you provided at sign up.  payments are in advance not arrears

if still having account problems then phone CS 150 or 0800800150 from mobile and they should be able to help