cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 9

Can my friend take over my bt devices in the same flat?

Go to solution

Now I am a postgraduate student, and on August 30, I will move back to my country, where I still have 3 months remaining on my broadband contract. My friend will take over the flat, including the remaining 3-month BT broadband contract (using the remainder of my contract). When my contract expires in November, can he create his own BT account but still use the same BT device (he wants to renew the contract but wants to use an account in his own name)? And what are the requirements?

0 Ratings
8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9

Re: Can my friend take over my bt devices in the same flat?

Go to solution

@muhaiyin 

Welcome to this user forum for BT Retail phone and broadband customers.

As you are still the account owner, you are going to be responsible for any costs or misuse of the connection in the flat.

Its far better now if your friend to place their own order to takeover your line on the 30th August. Its most likely that they will receive new equipment, and may be asked to return what is already there.

If you leave it until after your contract ends, you will still be charged on a rolling monthly basis unless you ring BT to cancel, which is likely to be difficult from abroad.

If you do cancel that way, then its not going to be possible for your friend to get their own broadband, for about 10 days afterwards, as there will be a pending cease on you line.

0 Ratings
Message 3 of 9

Go to solution

Yes, there is no problem with paying the rest of my contract until November, but can he renew the contract using his own account but using the same BT device?

0 Ratings
Message 4 of 9

Go to solution

@muhaiyin