cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 7

Re: Problem with using my Apple iMac - can anyone help?

Hello again 😀

I'm wondering if anyone using an Apple iMac has installed BT's Norton AV software on their computer.

If so, may I have some idea of their experience with same?

Kind regards,

David B.

0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7

The iMac has Anti Virus built in and installing another can cause conflicts. It will probably also slow the Mac down.

0 Ratings
Message 3 of 7

I tried and it failed to run all the time on my M1.

deleted it and hopefully removed my licence from Norton preffs.

bitdefender and malware bytes run free apps if you feel the need. Malware probably the important one. I only tried Norton as it was part of my package but not really needing it.

0 Ratings
Message 4 of 7

Thanks for replying '400'.

Most folk don't seem to think Apple computers need anti-malware software. I've tried just about all of them over the last fifteen years - just to see what happened. Have you any experience with ClamXAV, based in Edinburgh?

Cheers!

David

0 Ratings
Message 5 of 7

@BoaterDave 

Clam AV, not used it in years, had it when it first came out but it was back in the G3/4 PowerPC days and about the only one around for a Mac. Search on it I suppose.

I understand that malware threat is increasing. Hence I thought I would try the Norton package from BT as it was included in my package.

I assume you know Apple run a background check, updates often for threats. OS has built in safety. When I dealt with Microsoft files from a PC I would have a paid scanner running. I don't know a lot about this other than it happens.

https://support.apple.com/en-gb/guide/security/sec469d47bd8/web