cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 8

Removing old wires from master socket

So I have a couple of wired extension sockets in other rooms from the master socket. The wiring and sockets are not used now and I want to remove them as they are very old and ugly

I have an openreach master socket 5c MK4

Seems only important wires to keep are the orange and white wires connected directly in the front plate of the socket itself?

can anyone help confirm?

0 Ratings
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8

Re: Removing old wires from master socket

is the connection to front plate of master running a data extension to another socket so you can connect your router?

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
0 Ratings
Message 3 of 8

No

our dect phone set and our BT router are connected directly to this master socket 

that’s all 

0 Ratings
Message 4 of 8

the extension sockets do not connect to the front plate so where are the wires that are connected to front ending up.

the extensions are normally connected to the terminals 2&5 behind clear plastic cover

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
0 Ratings
Message 5 of 8

The only wires connected to front plate are 2 single wires, one orange and one white, everything else is away from front plate joining a blue/white and a black together, and a white/blue and a green together 

None of those connections are to front plate, only the orange & white wires into the red “tool free” connector on the back of the front plate 

0 Ratings
Message 6 of 8