cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 16

Is it possible to disable remote logins on Smart Hub 2?

Hi - I am new to using the smart hub. My old router used to have a feature for 'Remote login' by admin to get to the admin page of the router - the 192.168 etc page. However, there was an option to switch this feature off so that no remote login to 'admin' was possible. Setting up the smart hub i was a bit worried that there does not seem to be such an option or have i missed something?

Also in the same vein - are there any bog standard - preferably free - things i can do that you recommend to tighten up my router security? Thanks

0 Ratings
15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16

Re: Is it possible to disable remote logins on Smart Hub 2?

You can't access the hub remotely so there is obviously no option to disable login.

There are no options to ' tighten up hub security'. The hub is as secure as any router.

0 Ratings
Message 3 of 16

You can use a different router fir remote login. Such as Fritzbox or Draytek.

Security-wise, you can try IPfire but only if you know a thing or two about security and networking.

0 Ratings
Message 4 of 16

It is possible to acess the BT hub remotely. I can and I need to disable it.

Access control is supoosedly via the My BT app but this crashes upon use.

0 Ratings
Message 5 of 16

Anyone concerned beyond the typical requirements of you average household....should just get their own router. BT do not make it very hard at all to use your own.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BT900 | Nokia ONT | Ubiquiti ER-X | EETV Box Pro (IP Mode) | Unifi CK2 | 6x Unifi U6+ | 2x Unifi SAK Ultra
0 Ratings
Message 6 of 16

If other routers can do it why not BT's.

why have to go to the expense of paying out for a new router. 

BT's not fully fit for use.

If you get an alternative then it's BT's router to landfill, great.

0 Ratings