cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 9

Moving Smart Hub 2 from downstairs cupboard

Hi all, I am not tech savvy here and I’ve been pulling my hair out trying to relocate my smart hub 2 from the cupboard to the living room 

currently I have a 1 socket access point which has a grey cable to my smart hub 2. In the cupboard there are 4 Ethernet sockets where I can run a wired connection to the rest of the rooms in my flat.

Is it possible to run the grey cable from the access point directly to one of the 4 Ethernet sockets, and set the router up in another room? So far I’ve tried with no luck. 

9EA5D99E-AB7E-42B1-B6AD-38B4485AFCD5.jpeg

2924B770-90BD-4EBF-941E-F070D599CD0E.jpeg

94018FBD-23F6-4AF9-8D5C-B61C64AACD49.jpeg

0 Ratings
8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9

Re: Moving Smart Hub 2 from downstairs cupboard

Not sure what you mean by "access point"? The ONT appears to have a black ethernet cable rather than the grey that's in the Hub, where does this go?

Edit

Maybe the cable in the ONT is in shadow & just looks black? It's a problem with the tiny limits this forum imposes of pics. In theory you should currently have a single ethernet cable direct from the ONT to the WAN (red) port on the Hub. So you would need that to into the 4 way distribution point & then another from the port in the living room to the WAN port of the router.

0 Ratings
Message 3 of 9

By access point I mean the white open reach box. There’s a dark cable that goes to the router, can I plug the router in elsewhere, and run that dark cable directly to 1 of the 4 Ethernet sockets that take the network out to the rest of the rooms?
0 Ratings
Message 4 of 9

I've edited my post. If that's what you've done & it doesn't work maybe you're not connected to the right port on the 4-way? I can't see any labels to identify which port goes where?

0 Ratings
Message 5 of 9