cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 9

Quick question regarding Smart Hub 2 setup with Ethernet Wall Sockets

Go to solution

Hi folks, I've recently had BT Fibre 900 activated in my new place, but I'm new to Ethernet wall sockets which we have in most rooms. I've illustrated my current setup below; Am I right in thinking it's as simple as connecting the BT Smart Hub 2 to the wall socket via an ethernet cable (i.e. connect the ethernet port labelled number 1 to the data wall socket number 5) to give data to the whole house?

Screenshot 2020-12-15 at 10.10.44.png

0 Ratings
8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9

Re: Quick question regarding Smart Hub 2 setup with Ethernet Wall Sockets

Go to solution

What you have described would not work or rather it would only feed one of your rooms.

Think of each socked as just being a direct cable from the hub to your device. One cable can not feed two devices without there being an Ethernet switch in the system.

You would need to connect one of the hub's Ethernet ports to feed the Upstairs living room and another of the hub's ports to feed the downstairs office which going by what you have posted there are not enough Ethernet wall sockets at the hubs end to allow this.

There should be an Ethernet board with multiple Ethernet ports. This would normally be where all the cables terminate possible in a cupboard near to where your "master socket" is situated. Once you find that you would then connect the hub's Ethernet port's to the boards Ethernet ports to feed each room.

0 Ratings
Message 3 of 9

Go to solution

Ah, I only have the little double sockets as illustrated (with one ethernet-style port labelled 'phone' one labelled 'data') in both the cupboard where the open reach enters the property (where the router is situated as illustrated) and in all the other rooms. There's no switchboard style thing.