cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 11 of 33

Re: Location of the internal ONT

Go to solution

Yes I know.  I used to be a telecoms engineer myself a long time ago.

0 Ratings
Message 12 of 33

Go to solution

I've found a suitable aerial faceplate on Amazon that the engineer can use (when the aerial connection part has been removed) to cover the pattress box in the wall once the master socket has been completely removed. I've already removed the front part myself and discarded it as Plusnet cut me off a few days ago, so I have no need of it now as I shall be using my new Gigaset cordless phones with a Sipgate account, which was already up and running until Plusnet terminated my broadband and phone line without warning. I'm currently using the BT Mini Hub which they have kindly provided for me until my FTTP service goes live on 24th December.

Can you tell me the diameter of the small round plastic thingy in the photograph as I'll need to order some suitably-sized circular sticky pads for the engineer to stick it to the new faceplate?

0 Ratings
Message 13 of 33

Go to solution

You are assuming the engineer will have an internal cover with him. They don't always due to stocking issues. Additionally the engineers don't normally renove the master socket although may do so on request, especially if (as in your case) it makes install easier.

I suppose it boils down to if you get an Openreach enginner or a contractor. let us know how you get on.

BTW double sided tape may be better than pads.

0 Ratings
Message 14 of 33

Go to solution

Not sure what you mean by an "internal cover". Also, I've just noticed that I put the wrong date in my last post. It should have said 14th December, so just over two weeks from now. I'll update this thread with some photographs once the work has been done.

0 Ratings
Message 15 of 33

Go to solution