cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 16

1-3mbps estimated speeds but neighbours all have fibre? What can I do?

Hi There

I'm due to move into a new property on the street I grew up on. I've been searching for suitable ISP with fibre as I work from home, game and have two iPad loving kids. 

However every provider I check with can offer me either nothing at all or at the high end 1-3mbps. This is baffling me to no end as my neighbours, even next door, have fibre and are served by the same cabinet, and when i lived on the street 10 years ago my mums rubbish internet was faster than my estimated speeds. I'm going to continue to work from home and it requires daily zoom calls, the kids stream Netflix, Disney and when they sleep I get some game time in. I'm no expert with internet but after a week of digging I cant get anywhere, no fibre availability, my landline doesn't show up in any checks and the best I can get is 1-3mps. I thought I done my research with a quick post code check and it stated fibre was ofcourse available in the area and I accepted the keys, I should have checked individual addresses before. I done a bt wholesale check but I've no idea what anything means. Can someone please help with advice or point me in the right direction? Also it's not letting me attach a screen shot of the bt check because the size of the screen shot it too big 😩

Thank you for any time.

Lydia 🙂 

0 Ratings
15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16

Re: 1-3mbps estimated speeds but neighbours all have fibre? What can I do?

What does it say for the address using:

https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/

If you can't attach a screenshot you can copy and paste the table and info below it here

0 Ratings
Message 3 of 16

Screenshot_20220803-180158_Chrome.jpg
0 Ratings
Message 4 of 16

Thanks @Lydiajade94