cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 7

Significant Reduction in speed & connection drops - FTTP

Hello everyone,

I am writing to share my experience with Fibre to the Premises (FTTP) broadband, which I have been using for the last 18 months. I was initially very happy with the service, as I was getting speeds of up to 950mbps download and 110mbps upload, which was amazing for streaming, gaming and working from home.

However, about three weeks ago, I noticed a significant drop in my download speed, which went down to 75mbps, while my upload speed remained the same. This was very frustrating, as I was experiencing buffering, lagging and disconnections on a regular basis. I checked my connection using a wired ethernet cable and found that it was not a problem with my wifi router, but with the FTTP itself.

I contacted my provider and they completed diagnostic tests, I had checked the router and Optical Network Terminal (ONT), which is the device that connects the fibre optic cable to my home. The tech support stated that there was no obvious issue with the ONT, as it had green lights and no error messages. He suggested that there might be a problem with the fibre cable or the exchange An engineer needed to be booked. Following day engineer called and stated he could not investigate further because he had no change to pay for parking in central Manchester, where I live (M3 area)... astonishing....

I was very disappointed with this response, as I felt that he did not take my issue seriously and did not try to resolve it. I raised a complaint with my provider and they apologised for the inconvenience and offered me a credit on my next bill. They also said that they would send another engineer on Monday 24th April, who would have enough change for parking.