cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 4

Ethernet Wired Connection Query

I have a PC and a console in my bedroom and I would like these to be connected to the broadband using an ethernet cable as I believe its more efficient than using the WI-FI. 

If the whole installation procession was to be done downstairs; would I just be able to unplug the router and plug into my bedroom. I have a master socket next to my double socket but it is not a BT OpenReach just a plain master socket. Can i just plug the ethernet into this and be able to connect to my PC or;  do the engineers have to install in my bedroom. 

Im just a bit worried as they are arriving on Friday and Im thinking of cancelling as I fear they may be problems

0 Ratings
3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4

Re: Ethernet Wired Connection Query

You do not say what sort  of Broadband you are getting, is it FTTP, FTTC or just ADSL? You do not mention where the existing service enters your flat nor where fibre is likely to enter if that is what you are getting, so it makes it difficult to give accurate answers. You do not say whether you have multiple telephone sockets.

There can only be one master socket which you say is in your bedroom, any others are slaves or secondary, so if you are getting FTTC or ADSL you can simply use that master socket - though Openreach may change the faceplate and connect the secondary to the faceplate rather than main box.

Ethernet requires CAT5/5e/6/6a so you cannot normally run Ethernet over telephone cable, however you can certainly run telephone services over Cat5/5e/6/6a. 

If you are getting FTTP then you will have to agree with the Openreach engineer (or contractor) where the ONT will be located but they may be willing to put that in the bedroom.

I have assumed that you re getting a service directly and not through the Landlord building infrastructure.

0 Ratings
Message 3 of 4