cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 10

Moving a Master Socket to an incoming connection box - A job for Openreach?

Go to solution

Hi, We are sorting out a house we bought 12 months ago.

At the moment the Master Socket (separate sockets for phone and router) is in the hallway but the hall table is getting full with router/Salus box etc. etc.

I have an idea to move the master socket/fit a new master in a bedroom which has been set out as a home office.  Conveniently there is a BT connection box (see picture) exactly where I would want to put the master socket but as this the incoming line am I allowed to fit the new socket myself?  In the picture you can just about see the black sheathed landline cable and also two other white sheathed cables. One of these appears to be redundant but may have gone to extension sockets which are around the house but none of which work and in any case are no longer needed. Can I use the argument that I can move anything "inside" the house from this box onwards or do I need to get Openreach to install the new master socket at the location of this connection box?

If I can do this job myself, I have not made my mind up as to whether I need to existing master box to still function or not. If I do leave it in situ as a potential extension connection, do I just strap the new Master socket in parallel at the connection box?

Thanks.

HyFy

Wires going out of shot are not connected.Wires going out of shot are not connected.

0 Ratings
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10

Re: Moving a Master Socket to an incoming connection box - A job for Openreach?

Go to solution

@HyFy 

Welcome to this user forum for BT Retail phone and broadband customers.

Have you placed an order with BT Retail for broadband, as that will include any new master socket that may be needed?

Openreach will locate it where you want it, within reason.

0 Ratings
Message 3 of 10

Go to solution

Thanks for that reply.