cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 10

Smart Hub 2 & WD Mycloud connection

Go to solution

Hello. 

Firstly, I'll admit I'm not very good with tech so please bear with me. 

I've just moved to BT from Sky. My WD Mycloud NAS device was connected to my sky router via ethernet cable and I was able to see this NAS on my other devices on the network. However, despite it being connected in exactly the same way, I'm unable to get the MyCloud connected to the network through the BT Smarthub.

I've done some searching and there have been suggestions about disabling smart setup but I don't have that in my router settings. 

I'm totally confused (& frustrated) as to why this won't connect. Could anyone offer an easy to understand solution please.

Thanks in advance. 

Dave. 

0 Ratings
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10

Re: Smart Hub 2 & WD Mycloud connection

Go to solution

Have you tried another LAN port on the router?

Can you see the WD as a device in the router interface?

The Sky router uses a different IP address range to BT’s so you may need to run the setup again, depending on how the WD software addresses the NAS.

Message 3 of 10

Go to solution
@rbz5416 Yes, I tried the other ports on the hub but to no avail.

I connected my laptop to the router via ethernet cable to check the router wasn't faulty; it connected fine, so I'm assuming a faulty router isn't the issue.

No, the router isn't recognising the device, although the MyCloud device has a solid blue light, which shows that it's connected and ready to go. I assume that this means it has Internet access, yet it can't be seen.
0 Ratings
Message 4 of 10

Go to solution

As@rbz5416 has said, I suspect the NAS still has an IP address in the Sky range rather than the BT 192.168.1.xxx subnet.

Probably worth factory resetting the NAS and setting it up again, or try giving it a static address of 192.168.1.10 with gateway 192.168.1.254

Message 5 of 10

Go to solution