cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 5

TP-Link Deco XE75 Whole Home mesh system - best configuration?

Go to solution

Hi,

I hope all is well.

Firstly I’m not that technical and would appreciate your advice and guidance on the set up of my home internet network. I have BT’s 500Mbps full fibre broadband. I have a BT Openreach modem on the wall and from that I have an Ethernet cable running to a BT Smart Hub router. Wi-Fi is turned off in the Router. I’ve recently bought TP-Link's Deco XE75 Pro AXE5400 Whole Home mesh system to improve our Wi-Fi coverage and signal. I’ve set that up by running another Ethernet cable from the BT Smart Hub router to one of the Deco’s. I did see one Amazon customer state in his review that he had removed his BT Smart Hub altogether and had connected one of the Deco’s directly to the Modem. I have BT’s Digital Voice service and have my answer phone base unit connected to the phone socket on the back of the BT Smart Hub so I didn’t think that was an option for me. Otherwise I would lose access to my home phone connection?

Now I’m thinking could I connect one of my Deco’s to the modem and then run an Ethernet cable from the Deco to my BT Smart Hub, and more importantly if this is possible would it make a positive difference to my network’s performance/speeds or is my current arrangement the best option?

Also I’ve more or less set up my Deco system straight out of the box and as per the app. I don’t currently have any devices that operate on Wi-Fi 6 and they all connect via the 2.4ghz and 5ghz channels. Based on this are there any changes and tweaks I could make to improve my network’s configuration and performance?

I would be grateful for any help and support you could offer.

Thank you

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5

Re: TP-Link Deco XE75 Whole Home mesh system - best configuration?

Go to solution

as you have DV then SH2 needs to be connected directly to ONT (modem)