cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 10

Digital voice & Smart Hub 2 range question

Go to solution

Hi all,

Was thinking of moving over to digital voice as it now seems to be an option, but from reading these forums I don't like the sound of integrating it into my current setup.

I work in IT and networking so have no issue with the technical side of things, and it would appear I would have to use double NAT if I wanted to continue to use my Unifi USG (which I do want to).

The main question I had was this. So I'll have to have the Smart Hub up and running for Digital voice to work, and I assume if I went for multiple handsets, they needs to be within range of the smart hub in order to function? There is no way to extend this out other than having the hub in the most central spot of your house?

I would really like to have a decent landline in my home office which is at the back of our garden, but the point at which the line comes into the house is about as far away as it gets. I thought with Digital Voice using VOIP, I'd be all sorted and could simply have a handset within range of my Wifi, which is really well covered everywhere with multiple Unifi AP's. But sounds like that is still an expensive dream and would require some kind of external voip provider.

I wouldn't mind so much if my mobile worked in my home office, but we are in almost a celluar blackspot for all major networks and I have to make calls outside to have any chance of having them work.

0 Ratings
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10

Re: Digital voice & Smart Hub 2 range question

Go to solution
0 Ratings
Message 3 of 10

Go to solution

there are numerous posts on the forum about digital voice and the most incorrect assumption the DV is over wifi but the SH2 is a dect base station and the DV phones connect using dect just like most other base station with cordless phones

the FAQ will help