cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 10

Digital voice and BT8500 call guardian

Hi. 
I am an ex BT engineer that has two existing BT8500 ( one with an answerphone) telephones, plus two hard wired extension phones as back up for power failures. If an incoming call comes in the hard wired phones ring once before the call guardian intercepts the call on the BT8500. This is a similar experience mentioned by one forum member that his DV phone rang once before his B8500 ( plugged into the hub) intercepted the call. I have just applied for digital voice but what BT are stating is when changing to digital voice you given a choice of a new DV phone or an adapter. If choosing an adapter which once registered next to the hub, it can then be moved to a BT socket in another room, using an existing phone (BT 8500) plugged into the adaptor. Obviously the hard wired extensions would be removed, but in theory the two BT8500 phones should work and call guardian also be able to activate. It does seem though that people are having definite problems involving mixing tge provided DV phone with existing BT8500 phones. Has anyone on this forum actually given it a thought that the DV phone provided by BT, may not compatible with the BT8500 phones? Rather than mix two different digital phones on the system, has anyone actually tried to use the adapter method and their existing BT8500 to see if call guardian works ok?

0 Ratings
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10

Re: Digital voice and BT8500 call guardian

0 Ratings
Message 3 of 10

Hi @hubbys   The DV Adapter plugs into a Mains socket, not a BT socket. I had call guardian phones for several years, but decided to go DV HD phones (3) completely.  I've got into the habit of sending calls directly to voice mail if the screen turns red (number not recognised) and it is not a local caller. If the call is important they always leave a message but like call guardian cold callers hang up.

0 Ratings