cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 27

5GHz band not working on BT Smart Hub 2

Go to solution

Hi all,

Currently have BT Fibre 900 but struggling to get more than about 80mbps since moving home. Have had q Qube engineer out to have a look, they have tried 3 different Smart Hub 2's, all with the same issue, so I know its not the hub and even called other engineers who have said they have never come across this issue. I have confirmed that the speed between the ONT and the hub is 1000mbps.

My BT TV will not connect at all, presumably it only works on the 5GHz band. 

I have also had Openreach out (I am an Openreach engineer myself), have checked all cabling, light reading at ONT is within parameters and everything is good on our end. 

Today I did a speed test and realised that my phone was connected to the 5GHz band, getting about 440mbps, and the only thing I noticed that I did different was that I had the BT TV connected via ethernet (this is not a permanent solution as it means running a cable frlm hallway through rooms).

I jumped onto the hub admin settings and confirmed I was definitely connected to the 5GHz band, I was. I removed the ethernet from the BT TV box and I lost all connectivity on my mobile and TV. After reconnecting the ethernet to the BT TV box, I have been unable to re-connect to the 5GHz band. As stated, I dont know what was different other than the BT TV box being connected via ethernet. I am totally stumped as to why I wouldn't be able to connect to the 5GHz band, my phone is a Samsung S21 Ultra 5G which does support dual-band 5GHz connectivity. The hub is the same as the one in my previous address which didn't have any issues, constant 5GHz connectivity, it seems to have happened after a "lift and shift" from my first house to my new, current one.

Anyone any ideas? I am totally flummoxed. Powerline adapters are not a solution, I am paying for something and I'd like it to work.