cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 40

Can't access SmartHub 2 from different local subnet

Hello,

Not sure if what I am asking will be out of scope of this forum, and I am pretty new to networking as well, but I will give it a go.

I'm currently setting up a Unifi home network, and am currently using by Smart Hub 2 in AP mode (or as close as can be after following guides on this forum).

Currently the SmartHub 2 resides in a different subnet that the majority of my other devices. The annoying thing is I can't see to access the router (admin panel, ping, traceroute) from any subnet other than the default 192.168.x.x range.

I know on Windows pings from outside the local subnet are blocked by default, and I'm wondering if I am wasting my time and there is nothing that can be done here.

Just to confirm, I can ping/contact other devices on the same subnet as the router/AP, just not the device itself.

Any guidance would be much appreciated!

0 Ratings
39 REPLIES 39
Message 2 of 40

Re: Can't access SmartHub 2 from different local subnet

More info on the network topology is going to help!

I only learn by making mistakes and owning up to them - boy do I learn a lot!
0 Ratings
Message 3 of 40

BT Hubs block external ping, no idea on internal as I don't use one.

0 Ratings
Message 4 of 40

You could try setting the subnet mask to 255.255.254.0 but it may not work as that will put the WAN and LAN in the same subnet.

That's assuming that the 2 subnets have the same first 2 octets.

0 Ratings
Message 5 of 40

You won’t be able to access it in a different subnet unless you are accessing it via another router. 

What are you trying to use the SH2 for?  As Crimliar said, without more information on what is connected to what it’s impossible for people give you any real answer.

0 Ratings
Message 6 of 40

@jamespavett 

I was using an SH2 for DV only and my Asus for everything else.