cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 12

Master socket 5c moving?

Go to solution

Hi there. 
Total novice so reaching out and apologising for my simple questions!

I am in the process of moving into a property. It has a master socket 5C in the kitchen. This socket is a little low and will interfere will my planned kitchen renovations. 
A couple of questions:

The old resident didn’t have the internet, so I assume the house is already connected and internet ready (so to speak)?

Who do I contact about moving the socket? Ideally I’d like it in the lounge. I can’t seem to find any contact details or who to contact to do this!

Any help is gratefully received!

0 Ratings
11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12

Re: Master socket 5c moving?

Go to solution

Your service provider can arrange this.

0 Ratings
Message 3 of 12

Go to solution

Thank you for the reply

So if I’m not a BT customer, would it be Vodafone, for example, who move the BT socket? I thought it was the property of BT and no one but them could move it?

0 Ratings
Message 4 of 12

Go to solution

It's the property of Openreach, and your provider can ask them to move it. There would be a charge for this, which you should be told beforehand.

Message 5 of 12

Go to solution

Thank you so much. 

I contacted the provider and they said to contact a local electrician to move it. They would only do a ‘lift and shift’ if it were damaged. Which it isn’t. I’d just like it moved to a different room. 

0 Ratings
Message 6 of 12

Go to solution

That`s a bit odd, as BT Retail can raise an "Internal Shift" order with Openreach, for their customers. Its costs about £130.

0 Ratings
Message 7 of 12

Go to solution

Hi did you get any joy with moving your master socket I need to have mine moved ? 

0 Ratings
Message 8 of 12

Go to solution

Not at all! Good luck!

0 Ratings
Message 9 of 12

Go to solution

That’s a shame thanks 

0 Ratings
Message 10 of 12

Go to solution